Friday the 13th…

Friday the 13th well and truly lived up to its reputation.  At work, the office was eerily quiet as the tension of trying to finish a difficult order took its toll on the women.  The host father of one of my colleagues passed away, and I discovered that I had lost another $1000 to the same unscrupulous contractor that has already cost me hundreds of dollars in repairs, and countless sleepless nights since I tried to do the right thing and install a solar hot water system 9 months ago.

They say that if everyone threw their problems in a pile, you’d see everyone else’s and quickly take yours back.  I agree wholeheartedly.  I know my problems are nothing compared with the problems of the orphan down the road, or the HIV-riddled woman who is regularly beaten by her cowardly husband.  However, it’s still a problem, it’s still here, and it still makes me feel sick. 

So what does that mean?  Does it prove that I’m materialistic and selfish?  Maybe I have done something bad previously and this is karma coming back to me, although what’s the point of karma if you don’t know what it’s for?

Is there some criteria for what problems justify concern and action, and what problems you should just politely suck up?  And how do you do that?  I guess this all comes back to my raison d’etre for being in Swaziland – some hope to finding that answer, and one month in, I clearly haven’t found it yet.  I welcome your suggestions.

Categories: Life in General | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Friday the 13th…

  1. Melissa Stoneham

    Hey Isabel – you sound down but you know that luck is a random thing—so you are just as likely to suffer setbacks as anyone else. What makes it different, is our response to luck, or in this case a run of bad luck. You are a resilient young lady and I am sure you will quickly look for ways to put things right. Try to learn from what happened to avoid it next time and get on with your living their life as best you can. That contractor will one day, get what he deserves. You are doing great things in Swaziland – so keep your eyes on the prize.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

